Turner Prize 2010

Posted by Fabio 6 October 2010

The Turner Prize, now in its 26th year, is arguably the world’s most recognised and prestigious award for contemporary art. The exhibition presents the very best of current British visual art with the intention of stimulating a lively exchange of opinions. This is your chance to discover what’s new in British art now.

The prize is awarded to an artist under fifty, born, living or working in Britain, for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation in the twelve months before 28 April 2010.

Nominations are invited each year, and the prize is judged by an independent jury that changes annually. Four artists are shortlisted and they present works in a show normally held at Tate Britain before the winner is announced in December. The artists are not judged on their show at Tate – the decision is based on the work they were nominated for.

The Four artists nominated for the Turner Prize 2010 are: Dexter Dalwood, Angela de la Cruz, Susan Philipsz, The Otolith Group.

Tate Britain
Turner Prize 2010
5 October 2010 – 3 January 2011